Getting what you want

Uncategorized

Imagine you were able to have something you always dreamed of. Perhaps it’s an increased income, or finding your significant other. Imagine being in that place where it has already come true.

What is holding you back from getting to that place? Write down anything and everything that is holding you back. Get it out of your head, and onto a piece of paper.

Notice all of the places where you wrote down a circumstance or another person’s name. Those are the places where you are giving away your power to another. Can you find the inner strength to take your power back? Change your mindset from “they are holding me back”, to “they are the resistance I need to fight to strengthen myself to become who I need to be to get what I want”.

Exercise:

1. Write down what you want for yourself

2. List the things that are holding you back

3. Highlight where you listed another person’s name or a circumstance

4. List 1 action step you need to take to overcome the resistance, and strengthen you to becoming more of a person who has what you want

“I want a relationship with myself where I love and take care of myself in the way that I desire to be treated by those around me. Some things that hold me back are chores and errands. I would consider dirty dishes circumstance. I have an opportunity to wash some dishes, showing myself how much I care about me. I feel like leaving them for later, because that would help me feel carefree. I am choosing to wash them, because I want to feel taken care of. I am taking care of me in a new way. This exercise is shifting my mindset. I always dreamed of hiring someone to cook and clean for me. Now, I’m realizing that doing actions of self care, remind me that I’m worthy.”

What do you want for yourself? What’s in your way? How can you overcome it?

Leave a comment